Kat’s Top Ten Favorite Love Stories

Here are my top ten favorite love stories! To see what this post is about or make your own visit http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

One of my all time favorite books because it is hilarious, adventurous and has an epic love story. I always enjoy rereading this book and it always makes me laugh.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Although many wouldn’t classify this as a love story, I definitely do! Love between family members, love between sisters and of course, love between the little women and their future husbands. My favorite is of course Jo & Professor Friedrich Bhaer.

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

Not only was this story gorgeously written and lovely to experience, but its all about unrequited love. Duty first, personal fulfillment second. A different take on a love story.

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

Now we all know this story, right? right?  Edmond Dantes is falsely accused of treason by his plotting friend, he is thrown into an inescapable prison and spends years plotting his way out and revenge against those who betrayed him. He goes through years of hell to be with the woman he loves and to bring justice to all of those who hurt him.  Intrigue, revenge, fight scenes, betrayal, undying love.. what more could you want?

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

Yes, one of  William’s works had to make it in here somewhere! Romeo & Juliet is tragic and lovely. Every time I read it I wish they had found a way to be a little less rash and live through the story. Sigh.  I don’t know how anyone could help but love it.

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver

One of my all time favorite books, a story about nature and interwoven love stories / relationships. Amazing visual imagery, phrases, and serendipitous events link the narratives that all are connected in one way or another by the end. It is elegant and beautiful.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Oh Jane! How I love thee.This book is great because it is a dark & twisty love story. Full of nightmares, childhood trauma, shadows on the walls and fire in the night. The love is carefully hidden, controlled, drawn out and finally given. But no! Due to certain developments (read it, I dont want to ruin it) she  runs away and only tragic circumstances let her return to the man she loves.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Alright, to be honest I don’t enjoy Austen’s work all that much (please don’t throw things at me!) but I do like pride and prejudice. Of all her books, it is the story I enjoyed the most. And that was mostly due to Elizabeth. Although, the repulsive Collins is fun to read too. Kitty, I’d mostly like to slap some sense into. Anyway, where was I? oh yes, so Elizabeth and Darcy make this list for their uncomfortable and enticing hate-to-love relationship.

Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Henry and Clare go through so much to be together.  She is constantly waiting, worried and wondering. He is constantly ending up in places he doesn’t want to be, being beat up, getting lost, stuck in the snow, knowing things before he should. Its a lovely story about patience and endurance in love.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery. I love this book, it is sweet and touching.  Nothing like watching Anne & Gilbert grow up and knowing they are destined to be together (eventually, when they stop fighting.)

10 thoughts on “Kat’s Top Ten Favorite Love Stories

  1. I adored the love story in Anne of Green Gables, it was so well written and touching. Well, after they stopped picking on each other.

  2. Princess Bride really is epic on so many levels. Have you seen the movie? I’ve heard it’s supposed to be amazeballs, but I just can’t imagine it living up to the book.

    I seriously debated on putting Jane Eyre on my list. I LOVE that book, but I’m not sure if it’s the love story I love. I love Jane’s fierceness and refusal to be subsumed into Rochester’s identity or to just be his mistress. I love how wild her imagination is, and the chilling gothic elements (especially the first time you read it and don’t know the truth).

    There’s (yet another) Jane Eyre movie coming out soon that actual looks really good. Have you seen the trailer?

    Love Anne and Gilbert! I wanted to be Anne Shirley when I was younger =D

    • You should def watch the movie, its the best book-to-movie i’ve ever seen. Its almost identical to the book! you’ll love it. William Goldman was actually the one to write it and make sure it went well, they did a GREAT job. I promise.

      Jane Eyre, i couldn’t help it! Its gothic and dark but its still one of my favorites. YES I’ve seen the trailer! I’m SO excited to see it! I wish someone I knew near me were excited too, my friends think I’m a bit crazy.

      Anne and Gilbert, oh so sweet. I want to read it again, now.

  3. I love the fact that you have so many classic novels on your list. 😀 And also excited we shared “Little Women” on our lists! How can anyone not love that novel? Goodness, I completely forgot about “The Princess Bride!” Shame on me, it will have to come in on a future list. Thank you for visiting my blog and happy reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

