Books I just had to buy.. but are still sitting on my bookshelf: Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Books I just had to buy.. but are still sitting on my bookshelf (hangs head in shame) Note to self, you probably shouldn’t buy 10 books at a time. It leads to shameful confessions such as the following list.

1.) The Lotus Eaters: A Novel by Tatjana Soli
I bought this a few months ago and it is still waiting for me. I have had numerous people tell me its awesome but I have yet to get to it.
2.) A Wolf at the Table by Augusten Burroughs
I love burroughs, i’ve read all his books but this one which has been lurking on my shelf. Why? why? I have no excuse.
3.) Shadow Country by Peter Matthessen
I remember thinking how amazing this book looked and I was so excited to read it. Still excited, but still.. not yet.
4.) The 24th Hour by David Benioff
I read Benioff’s other book and adored it so I bought this one and was all ready to dive in. Then I probably got distracted by something shiny, a cup of coffee or another book. Something.
5.) The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood
Yes, yes I hear your cries of horror. How?! (you wail) Well, honestly, I started this but it didn’t grab me right away and I ended up reading The Hunger Games instead (yes, this was a few years ago) and then moved on without thinking about. Its still there.
6.) Palace Walk by Maguib Mahfouz
So many people recommended this series to me! I have it, I’m sure I’ll get to it soon. Really, I will.
7.) Until I Find You by John Irving
I have read the illustrious Mr. Irving on many an occasion but I have yet to pick up this small tome of a book and devote myself full to it. I blame not the book, I’m sure its wonderful.
8.) Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro
I love, adore, fawn and am irresistibly drawn to Ishiguro’s books but I haven’t been in the mood for one lately so this has languished on my shelves for a bit.
9.) The Master and the Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
One of my friends told me this was their favorite book of all time so I bought it and I do look forward to reading it. Someday Bulgakov, someday.
10.) Atonement by Ian McEwan
Famous, bestseller, intrigue, betrayal, love, sisterhood. What else do you need?  I just know this book will make me sad, so I am waiting for a sad kind of day to read it. Give me some credit though, I haven’t seen the movie yet either. I’ll wait.
9 thoughts on “Books I just had to buy.. but are still sitting on my bookshelf: Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I decided that the problem with buying books (as compared to checking them out of the library) is that as soon as I buy them, it removes the urgency to read them. What do you think?

    -Anne

  2. haha to be fair, I often put off reading library books too.. just not as long. I always buy and check too many out (example: stack of 10 library books on my nightstand) haha

    • hahaha no, at least I didn’t. those are all books i own but haven’t read yet. But yea, i have the same bad habit with library books. LOL i love that you bought dragonrider in spanish. how odd.

  3. I really enjoyed Until I Find You

    The Robber Bride is on my TBR shelf as well – I didn’t buy it though, my husband owned it long before we met but despite loving The Handmaid’s Tale, I haven’t read any of the other Atwood novels sitting there!

Leave a Reply

