Top Ten Settings In Books

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Settings in Books

Cemetery of Forgotten Books –  When I read Shadow of the Wind and Daniel got to go to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books, all I could think was how much I wished it really existed! I want to go! For those that haven’t read this book: it is an endless library of old, forgotten titles lovingly preserved by a select few initiates. According to tradition, everyone initiated to this secret place is allowed to take one book from it, and must protect it for life. I have always wondered what book would pick me to protect it. If only.

London Below – In Neverwhere when Richard Mayhew rescues Door, a whole new world in London is exposed to him. Sure he becomes invisible to real people, loses his job, his apartment and basically doesn’t exist anymore.. but its worth it! Now he gets to experience London Below, a much darker and magical london than the one above. I want to talk to the rat speakers, cross the night bridge and see the floating market! The floating market sounds like a wondrous place. Then I’d find a way to take a ride at the Earls Court just to see where I’d end up. Sure its all a little dangerous, but all interesting places are.

Narnia – Who wouldn’t want to live in Narnia? As a kid I always wanted to climb through the back of a wardrobe or see that magical light post appear. Meet some fawns, chat with some beavers, take a sail on the Dawn Treader. I can’t help it, sometimes when I’m walking in a forest… a small part of me still is hopeful.

Never Never Land – Pirates, magic, flying, fairies, mermaids, indians.. really, a haven for anyone who is a child at heart. And you can only get there by flying with fairy dust, probably the coolest mode of transportation ever.

Camp Halfblood – Camp Halfblood always sounded like so much fun! A sanctuary for demigods that keeps out their enemies. The magical cabins, the games, the training and even ambrosia which sounds delicious. Sure you could die if you eat too much, but who cares? It tastes like chocolate chip cookies and sunshine. (I may have added that sunshine bit, but in my head thats always how it sounded) Also, I’d really like to be a demigod. (Zeus if you’re listening, you can claim me now. I’ve read the books, I’m ready for this.)

Leviathan – From Leviathan and Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld. Steampunk books are often a lot of fun, but Westerfeld definitely outdoes most of the others with his creations. I would love to fly on the Leviathan! Its an amazing huge biological airship (that sort of resembles an enormous flying whale blimp) and functions as a self-contained ecosystem.  I want to be on it but I also want to watch it sail through the night sky. It sounds glorious.

Wonderland & Looking Glass – I know when Alice fell down the rabbit hole and went through that looking glass, things got a bit on the crazy side. Sure the queen was a bit cranky, but other than that it sounded delightful. Changing size because of drinking and eating, animals that talk, tea parties, nonsense abounding! I always thought it sounded like a lot of fun and Alice was a bit uptight about it. Just enjoy it honey, so what if you’re as big as a house or as small as a pea?

The Chocolate Factory – Who could read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and not want to win a golden ticket to the factory? Chocolate lakes, magic dinner gum and even a teleport machine! The Chocolate room always sounded the best, but I’d love to peek into the Nut room and the Inventing room too. This chocolate factory doesn’t just make the best candy in the world, its a grand adventure.

Middle Earth – I would love to be a hobbit. To live beneath a hill, drink, dance, enjoy a pipe once and a while, appreciate the greener things in life. It sounds like a relaxing existence. Of course, I’d want to live there after Frodo fixed everything. None of that war and tribulations for me, thanks. Also, I’d like a pet dragon. I think if I lived in middle earth I could manage that.

OZ – I wasn’t sure about this one because I never had the urge to actually go there, but it is a great setting. Witches everywhere, munchkins, the emerald city. It sounds like a really interesting place to be!

36 thoughts on “Top Ten Settings In Books

  1. Ahhh! I would LOVE to be a member of Camp Halfblood! You never know what might happen when you’re there! You’ve got a great list =D I would also totally want to live at Hogwarts. I haven’t read Shadow of the Wind, but I’m definitely intrigued by this Cemetery of Forgotten Books O_O

  2. I KNOW! And you definitely should read Shadow of the Wind, I’ve always wanted to go there. Arg, you’re right! hogwarts should have been on my list. I’d love to live there too.

  3. You’ve got a list full of great picks. The Library of Forgotten books ounds like a dream for all us book nerds. And Narnia, Camp Half-blood, and The Chocolate Factory…three cheers for those picks! And I’d love to go to Never Never Land and think happy thoughts and fly! GREAT picks!

  4. I love your list. Towards the end I was wondering, where’s Middle-Earth?! That and Oz are usually the first places I think of. Leviathan is an interesting choice, one I would not have thought of at first.

  5. Good call on the Chocolate Factory! I’ve seen Cemetary of Forgotten books on a lot of lists too. Shadow of the WInd is on my TBR shelf and I’m hoping to get to it soon.

  6. Dude! How could I have forgotten the Chocolate Factory?! Lol It looks like we have similar tastes cause I have three of the same 🙂 and Shadow of the Wind is on my tbr list… As for Steampunk, I really wish I could get into it… the world-building sounds awesome.

  7. Holy geez, you picked a great selection of worlds that I wish were real, too! And some of the books I haven’t even read yet, though they’re on the TBR list! 😀 The Chocolate Factory, Oz, Middle Earth, Wonderland, all wonderful places! Great list!

  8. I would LOVE to live in Never Never Land and Middle Earth, but I am not so sure about Narnia, especially not during the winter, eesh. Great list!

    Here’s my list this week 🙂

    • LOL I guess thats fair. I LOVE winter though, snow and snow angels and snow fights and snowmen.. maybe not the evil winter witch, but the rest of it I wouldn’t mind so much. I’ll check it out!

  9. Cemetery of forgotten books made my Number One, too. And how could I possibly have forgotten about Alice’s Wonderland. Love your list. The pictures are grand.

    My top ten Tuesday is here.

  10. Amazing list. So many places I would want to visit. Narnia, Never Never Land (I really do never want to grow up), the chocolate factory (nom) and of course middle earth. This is also the second time I’ve seen Neverwhere mentioned which only highlights the fact that I should read this book.

  11. The Cemetery of Forgotten Books sounds fabulous. I want to go there too. 🙂 Camp Halfblood made it onto my list as well. I’ve always been partial to Artemis, so even though she couldn’t be my mother, I’d probably end up being one of her hunters.

Leave a Reply

