Top Ten Tuesday: Aww (shucks!) Moments

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s Top Ten is “Aww” Moments In Books. (Those cute lines, charming actions, kisses, or any other sentimental moment that made you say “AWW!”) I didn’t think I’d be able to think of ten because I don’t read a lot of romantical books, but then I realized a lot of the great stories have a little aww in them. So here goes!

Pride and Prejudice

I admit the first thing I thought of was when Elizabeth finally admits her love for Darcy and he reacts “Had Elizabeth been able to encounter his eye, she might have seen how well the expression of heartfelt delight, diffused over his face, became him; but thought she could not look, she could listen, and he told her of feelings, which, in proving of what importance she was to him, made his affection every moment more valuable.” You spend the whole book waiting for it so when it finally happens, even as restrained and polite a love it is, the elation of the moment is palpable.

Little Women

When Jo is walking home with professor Bhaer and he tells her that hes going away and she cries (Jo! crying!), which finally shows him that she wants to be with him. I am always overcome with emotion when I read that. Them holding hands under the umbrella in the rain, all muddy and disheveled, but happy.

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares

When Dash and Lily spend the night in The Strand together and she surprises him with the full Oxford English Dictionary… most adorable romantic gesture ever.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

When Juliet runs to Dawsey while hes working and she just says “Would you like to marry me?” “I’m in love with you, so I thought I’d ask.” Shes just so free and straightforward, I loved that. And then he practically falls off the ladder in his enthusiasm to say yes and sprains his ankle. Which is also completely precious.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

When Harry finally kisses Ginny and as you’re reading it in your head you’re yelling “FINALLY! FINALLY!” Or was that just me? Well, I admit it, in my head I was definitely yelling it. So maybe it wasn’t an “Awww moment” so much as a “HELL YEA!” moment. But still.

Prodigal Summer

When Garnett Walker, the crotchety neighbor of Nannie Rawley, finally admits after a whole book of complaining and feuding with Nannie, that he came over to confront the scarecrow (who he thought was a man looking at her in her shorts) out of jealousy. She realizes he likes her and gives him a hug. Its so damn cute, I can’t help but smile just thinking about it.

The Time Traveler’s Wife

When Henry says goodbye to Clare because he knows that its the end for him. Shes upset because he let her have a party at their house but he said he wanted them there so she wouldn’t be alone when it happened. Sigh. So sweet.

The Lover’s Dictionary

“I want my own books to have their own shelves,” you said, and that’s how I knew it would be okay to live together.” One of my favorite entries in this book (mostly because its book nerdiness) but also because its something I genuinely ‘aww’d at.

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day

At the end of the book (and btw, so sorry to anyone if I’m ruining awesome moments in books you haven’t read.. but its hard to do this post without ruining something!) when she has no where left to go and Miss LaFosse tells her that she wants her to move in and run the house for her and Michael!  (it really is a Cinderella story) Its a very sweet scene that ends this gem of a book on a positive note.

Before I Fall

Ok if you are planning to read this book, do not read what I’m about to write! Look away! Avert your eyes! Scroll down the comment section and leave me a nice note or something.. If you have read it: When she says goodbye to Kent and kisses him for the last time. Then hes chasing after her when she goes to save Juliet’s life and give up her own.. that just about killed me. Excruciatingly sad. My favorite part of the whole book.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Aww (shucks!) Moments

Leave a Reply

