Top Ten Underrated Books

Top Ten Tuesday was created and is hosted by The Broke And The Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Underrated Books

I’m not sure how underrated these books are in the book community, maybe you’ve all read them and love them. But I feel like I often get the question of “what? who?” when I talk about them. So here goes, my list of possibly underrated books that I’d like others to read so they can exclaim with me over their amazingness.

1.   Sleeping in Flame by Jonathan Carroll

Or really anything he has written. I remember loving these books when I read them and being unable to put them down. Disturbing, beautiful, haunting, twisted. They were always unexpected.

2.   Anything by Barabara Kingsolver that ISN’T The Poisonwood Bible 

So maybe I’ll talk a little bit about overrated books too? I didn’t enjoy The Poisonwood Bible. Not sure why, I just couldn’t get into it. But I did love (love love love!) all her other books. So, I usually try to get people to branch out into her other novels. I swear, they are completely worth it.

3.   Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami

Anyone who goes to read Murakami always seems to leap for his The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, which again, was not my favorite. I’ve read most of Murakami’s books and loved them. Out of all his books, this one has really stuck with me. Maybe because it was my first Murakami, maybe not. Either way, I wish more people had read this one too.

4.   Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen by Christopher McDougall

This is an awesome book with amazing reviews. Somehow though, most people I’ve talked too have never heard of it. So here I am doing my part, read this book! Whether you love to run or not, if you love to read, I think you’ll enjoy it.

5.    Winterdance: The Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod by Gary Paulsen

When I began to read this book I didn’t have any idea what the Iditarod was or that it even existed. Once I read this book, I knew it would stick with me for the rest of my life. The Iditarod is the world’s largest sled race in Alaska. People endure days of racing over dangerous mountains and valleys, extreme cold, lack of food, frostbite, injuries and sometimes even death to run this race. Paulsen gives his first hand account of training and running it for the first time. He is funny, intelligent and engaging. I loved this book.

6.   84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

I know I’ve put this book on lists before but I’m going to say it again. If you are a book lover, you must read this book. You will cherish it.

7.   The Uncommon Reader: A Novella by Alan Bennett

An adorable little novella about the Queen of England discovering a love for reading and putting off running the country to read books.

8.   Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom

Everyone has read (or heard of) The Five People You’ve Met in Heaven. Well let me gesture wildly as I point out, Albom has other books! This is yet another I-enjoyed-this-book-more-than-the-one-he-is-famous-for book. Have a Little Faith is a smart, touching and well written book. I am not religious in the least and I enjoyed this book immensely. Its all about love, understanding and respecting the belief’s of others.

9.   The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery   

This book is about a concierge in a building in Paris. Though she may come off as cranky and uneducated when interacting with the rich people in her building, secretly she is sophisticated, intelligent and lovely. She begins to interact with a new tenant and show her true self through his kindness and kinship.

10.   Bradbury Speaks: Too Soon from the Cave, Too Far from the Stars by Ray Bradbury

So you’ve read his famous novels, but have you read this collection of personal essays? If you haven’t, you must! Bradbury fans will enjoy this intimate peek into Bradbury’s life and thoughts. I really loved learning more about one of my favorite authors.

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Underrated Books

  1. Great list and really inspiring. I must read “84, Charing Cross Road” by Helene Hanff soon, I am sure I will love it – and “The Uncommon” deserves to be read, it is such a wonderful little whimsical book.

  2. Awesome list. A bunch of titles I’m not familiar with but after reading your descriptions I wish I was. That Bradbury one might be first on the list based on that title alone

    • I loved the Bradbury one! you def should read it. My favorite story was about him visiting Walt Disney and being able to pick out anything he wanted from the disney vault. I wish I could have seen that.

  3. Intriguing list.

    I’ve read 84 CHARING CROSS, AN UNCOMMON READER and have WINTERDANCE and I think, a book by Jonathan Carroll on my shelves. At some point they will be read. Thanks for the push in the right direction. 🙂

    I did try THE ELGANCE OF THE HEDGEHOG but just could not get into it. I think I’ll try again one of these days.

    • I’ve heard that about Elegance, some people I know that read it just couldn’t get into it at all. I loved it. It may be depending on moods or just sometimes a book strikes different people in different ways. Jonathan Carroll is awesome 🙂 I hope you get a chance to read something by him!

  4. I haven’t heard of any of these, but a lot of them sound interesting. 🙂 I’d really love to check out Winterdance especially after visiting Jeff King’s Husky Homestead in Alaska. Thank you for sharing and for visiting!

  5. I loved reading Gary Paulsen’s books when I was a kid, but I never realized he’d written a book (for grown-ups!) about running the Iditarod. Sounds great – I’ll definitely have to check it out!

  6. Animal Dreams by Barbara Kingsolver is one of my favorite books of all-time. It is so beautifully written and definitely one that I recommend to EVERYONE I meet! Thanks for helping to steer people in her direction.

Leave a Reply

