Shut up, I’m Reading

Reading is often regarded as a solitary sport. I have heard it referred to as something antisocial people do because they want to escape into their own head. I admit, sometimes that’s true. Don’t get me wrong, we aren’t scary loners who wear all black and growl at the sun (except for maybe you twilight fans), but we do like a little quiet time away from all that hoopla out there once and a while.

The rest of the time, I do find it enjoyable to have a warm body nearby keeping me company when I’m reading. A silent one. One that doesn’t kick me under the table and demand I “put that book down!” like I’m doing something rude. Note to world: I’m not being rude. I’m reading. OK, maybe you don’t like that my first instinct upon receiving a steaming cup of java is to whip out my book like a fresh croissant to accompany it, but that is just a reflex. I probably thought you’d have a book too. We’re friends aren’t we?

This week my friend visited from DC and we spent a lot of time roaming around Austin eating, walking, shopping and drinking a lot (and I mean a LOT) of coffee. We probably visited 4 or 5 different coffee shops in the two days we spent together. On the first day we were making our second (or third?) coffee stop and my friend started to roam around the backseat of my car. Why you ask? Because I always have 10-15 books laying about back there, waiting for some lucky person to read them. After all, my car might break down, work might get cancelled, lunch might be solitary, I may have a sudden doctor’s appointment or need to get my oil changed… so I’m always prepared. She sifted through my books and eventually decided on a Harry Potter (excellent choice) and as we were walking into the coffee shop she said “Thats what I love about spending time with you, there’s always coffee/reading time built in.”

I miss that a lot. Not that people in Texas don’t read, but I used to have at least one day a week where we would go relax at a coffee shop (or the common, oh how I pine for you Boston!) on a book date. I feel a little more uni-bomber here because I tend to spend my dedicated reading afternoons alone. I’d stalk someone at the library or sidle up to someone at the local bookstore, but it is often misconstrued. No, I don’t want to sell you drugs, take your picture through a darkened window at night or date you. I just want a reading buddy. (A quiet one.)

13 thoughts on “Shut up, I’m Reading

    • Me too! How can they not be interesting when they are constantly absorbing stories and knowledge outside of themselves? Readers are definitely the some of the most interesting people to know.

  1. Thank you! I always bring a book to family functions because after a while, everything has been said and I’d like to entertain myself with a book over here on the sofa. I’m not being anti-social!!

    • exactly! You should come to my family functions, we talk when we’re eating or out together, but theres a lot of everyone-with-their-own-book time where a bunch of us are just lounging and reading together.

  2. I envy you your book reading family time. Every once in a while my oldest daughter and I hang out and read our own books, but before that the last time I did that was when I was a freshman in high school. LONG TIME.

    I also live in Texas, and the people in my world don’t understand why I “waste” so much time reading.

    • Where are you at in Texas? It’d be nice to meet another avid reader here! Yea, we usually get nice reading family time on holidays, which is something I really love about my family. We can all be in the same room reading books and be perfectly happy with that.

  3. I love that someone else understands the need for a little quiet reading time!! My ex-boyfriend (and his family) used to make fun of me for always bringing a book when I went over to his house. It wasn’t that he was boring (okay, kind of), but more because I work all week and I would just like an hour or so to myself, where I can enjoy a good story! I sometimes read at book stores by myself now. Maybe I should try making new reading buddies! 🙂

    • Yes! It definitely helps to just take a couple hours to go to a coffee shop or library or something just to read by yourself. At home I tend to get distracted and if I go out and turn my phone on silent, it gives me the time I need to read and decompress without anyone bugging me. I take a book everywhere no matter what! I get comments on it too 🙂

Leave a Reply

