2011 Banned Books Week Giveaway (closed)

Banned Books Week! Libraries across the country are brushing off tables and setting them at their entrances with signs that say “Read a Banned Book!”, book lovers are pinning ‘I read Banned Books’ pins to their bags, and tee shirts, flyers, bookmarks are all being printed and sold at indie bookstores. Most of all, some of the most banned books in the history of our country are being read out loud, discussed and discovered.

According to the American Library Association, some of the most classic banned books are:

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Color Purple by Alice Walker
Ulysses by James Joyce
Beloved by Toni Morrison
The Lord of the Flies by William Golding
1984 by George Orwell
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
Animal Farm by George Orwell
The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner
Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

and countless others.

And here are some of the most challenged books of 2010:

And Tango Makes Three, by Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson
The Hunger Games (series), by Suzanne Collins
Lush, by Natasha Friend
Revolutionary Voices edited by Amy Sonnie
What My Mother Doesn’t Know, by Sonya Sones
Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley

For this giveaway you have choices, which in my opinion, is delightful. You can tell me what banned book you’d like to read and why. If you win, I’ll mail it to you. Or you can suggest a banned book that you’d like donated to a specific library or school near you (that may be in need of it) and I’ll mail it to them.

So go ahead, tell me what wonderful banned words you’d love to read this week!

*Winner is @Demibeans! Please send me your mailing address so I can send you your book!*

10 thoughts on “2011 Banned Books Week Giveaway (closed)

  1. Oh, this is quite tough since i haven’t read a lot of banned books, though I have always wanted to. This makes the choice harder. Well, for the most part, I own The great Gatsby and The Catcher in the Rye, and I’ve read To Kill a Mockingbird and Animal Farm at school. The ones I most want to read from the list are The Hunger Games (series) and Lolita.

    I’ve heard rave reviews for The Hunger Games, praising it for the strong female protagonist. I’ve always found dystopian novels interesting and I’ve honestly been wanting to read this novel since 2008. I still haven’t gotten my hands on it. Also, now that it has become a popular book, it has been booked solid at the library. I can’t seem to get my hands on a copy to read.

    I’ve also been wanting to read Lolita though. The premise for the book is quite interesting and I’ve also heard great things about it. One of my old friends had read it and she said it was one of her favourite novels.

    So yes, I am torn between these two. But hopefully I will get to read both of them in the future.

  2. My favorite book on your list is “1984”, though I’ve picked “Hunger Games” to read during BBW! I’d never heard of Hunger Games before, but I recently read about it being banned at a Catholic school (because it went against doctrine?). However, when I went on vacation a couple weeks ago, I happened to see it at a bookstore and picked it up. The back cover synopsis reminded me of the myth of Theseus, how the Athenian youths were sacrificed to the Minotaur, so I’m looking forward to reading it. I’m curious what it will be like.

    If I win, I’d like an epub copy of “1984” (if that’s an option). Fortunately, the books you listed are available through my local library. πŸ™‚

  3. Those are some great choices. I’ve read half of those banned books. Of them, “1984” is my favorite. If I had to choose one book to read, I would go with “Ulysses.” Despite his place as one of the great modernist writers, I’ve never read anything by Joyce and this would be a good introduction. While the controversial obscenity trials make the novel intriguing, I’m most interested in getting into Joyce’s writing style.

  4. I’ve been meaning to read Ulysses for years and years and haven’t ever gotten around to it. I’ve read bits and pieces here and there, but winning a copy would definitely impel me to finish the whole shebang. πŸ™‚

  5. I was happy to know that I’ve read most of these! I’ve never read The Color Purple, though– it’s always on my “To Read” list but I never seem to get to it! I’ll have to change that.

Leave a Reply

