Sherlock Holmes to 1984, October Releases

Its October! One of things that makes me excited about October is that various books I am waiting for are being released next week. October 25th, 2011. I don’t know what it is about that date, but I have three books I am waiting for eagerly that are all being released on the 25th.

  A Study in Sherlock: Stories inspired by the Holmes canon. Edited by Laurie King, Stories contributed by Neil Gaiman, Alan Bradley, and Lee Child

Firstly, I love Laurie King’s Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes books. If you haven’t read them, you definitely should, immediately. Start with The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, which I guarantee you’ll love. Mary Russell is the female version of Sherlock Holmes, helping him solve his mysteries and generally, kicking butt. She is the heroine of that series. I am excited about this book not just because it is edited (and I’m sure, inspired) by Laurie King’s work, but because fabulous (and two of my favorite) authors Neil Gaiman and Alan Bradley are part of it. I don’t think I could be more excited about a book coming out!

Mastiff by Tamora Pierce

I loved Pierce’s books when I was a youngin’ growing up and now that I’m (theoretically) grown up, I still love them and follow her work. I read the Beka Cooper series when it started and I am impatiently awaiting this new installment with much excitement! If you haven’t read her books, this is another author you really must experience. Start with her Alanna series!

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

Last but not least, 1Q84, the great Murakami’s rendition of 1984 is coming out next week as well. So. Many. Books. Murakami is an amazing author and I’ve been waiting for this book for a long time. I’m so thrilled it is finally being released.

Really, I’m not sure which book I’ll read first. I’m sure there are lots of other releases this month as well so feel free to let me know about them. Hurrah for October!

Leave a Reply

