Top Ten Books Whose Titles Or Covers Made Me Buy It

Top Ten Tuesday was created and is hosted by The Broke And The Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books whose titles or covers made me buy it.

I admit it, I’m a sucker for a good cover or brilliant design, so I roamed a bit about my shelves and found these which I think the cover or name contributed a lot too.

The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown

Part of what hooked me in the bookstore to buy this in hardback was the beautiful cover. You can’t tell from the image here, but its a white iridescence type of material that is shimmery. The fact that it was also an awesome read, was icing on the very pretty cake.

The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop by Lewis Buzbee

I love books about books, especially when they are well written. I had heard this book was excellent and when I found it, the adorable cover with the books, lamp and colors was irresistible. I bought it immediately. It is also, btw, definitely worth reading.

  The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steve Galloway

I love small books. I know this sounds weird, but sometimes when you find that tiny little book squished between all those huge stacks of new hardcover fiction and bestsellers, it feels a little bit like a miracle to find a tiny, lovely book where you didn’t expect it. I also loved the name and the cover. This book lived up to its design, it is a gem of a book, beautiful and moving.

Who the hell is Pansy O’Hara? The Facinating Stories behind 50 of the world’s best loved books by Jenny Bond and Chris Sheedy

This book is definitely not one that wins for its cover, a bit unattractive with the yellow and pile of books. Seems like very little effort was put into it, but the title is different. I was really captured by the title and wanted to read the stories behind the books I knew so well already.

The Tower, The Zoo and The Tortoise by Julia Stuart

The name of the book really entranced me, a zoo, a tortoise and a tower? It sounded fanciful and fun. The writing itself is very good also and lives up to the whimsy of the name.

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

I loved the cute cover and the name of this book, the description also, that two kids were leaving clues for each other in a book in bookstores in New York, really hooked me. It was a great book and I wasn’t sorry to be entranced by the cover/title.

The Bone People by Keri Hulme

This awesome cover made me interested in a book I had never noticed before. Its very visual, being in black and white and of a graphic nature. I loved this design and it made me buy the book without much thought.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

A beautiful cover for a beautiful book. A very sad story about love, loss, family, concentration camps and finding hope even when you lose everything you know or love in your life. The cover and title definitely does the story justice.

The Master by Colm Toibin

A stunning cover for a riveting book. The Master is about a man who is born into an intellectual family and moves to Paris, Rome, Venice and London to live among artists and other writers. It is emotional and riveting, much like the cover itself.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Whose Titles Or Covers Made Me Buy It

  1. I’m completely with you on the Pansy O’Hara book. I hadn’t heard of it before this list but when I saw the cover I was very “meh” until I read that title. Now I really want to pick it up

  2. I have The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop on my TBR list; the title captured my attention too. I’ll have to look into Who the hell is Pansy O’ Hara. It sounds really interesting. I love books about books! you should check out So Many Books, So Little Time by Sara Nelson if you haven’t already. It’s my favorite book memoir.

    • My favorite Book memoir is ‘Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader’ if you haven’t read it, you MUST! Its funny and sweet and so enjoyable. Also, My Reading Life by Pat Conroy is amazing. I will definitely look for So Many Books, So Little Time! Thanks!

  3. Oh, “The Tower, the Zoo and the Tortoise” has been tormenting me with its tantalizing title and bizarre cover image ever since I first spotted it featured on Goodreads. I have to find out what that’s about!
    JNCL

Leave a Reply

