Mastiff by Tamora Pierce

Beka Cooper is a lower city Dog, she patrols the streets to help people in trouble, put the wrong to right and arrest those who would break the law. She is smart, friendly, funny, strong willed, a little shy around new people and kick ass at her job. She is an amazing young lady. I love Tamora Pierce’s heroines because they are always extremely independent and driven young ladies. They don’t wait around for a man to save them, they don’t cry all day about which guy to choose in a love triangle; they have jobs, dreams, determination and drive. They are trying to make something of their lives. Every parent should give Pierce’s books to their daughters. If I ever have one, I know I’ll stock her room full of them. But I digress, lets talk about the book. In Mastiff, the third of this series, we are hit with many surprises.

In the last book Beka had finally become a full time real Dog on the streets and gained Tunstall, one of the best dogs in the city, as a partner. She captured some majorly wicked thieves in her last adventure and I couldn’t wait to see what they had in store for her next.

I won’t say too much because even the beginning of this installment surprised me, it opens with Beka at a funeral of a loved one. A very close loved one. I’m still not sure if this beginning was necessary because from what you’ll read, it changes very little that happens in the rest of the book. Also, we didn’t actually know this loved one personally from previous books, so we aren’t invested in their death. I wish she had written a book with this person in it so we’d be invested and heartbroken, instead of wondering why this part was even included.

From there, she goes on a hunt to save the crown prince of the realm. It is the most dangerous, intensive hunt that Beka has been a part of yet. She is more professional now, with a few years experience and multiple hunts under her belt. In this particular hunt, there are plenty of twists and turns to keep us entertained. Part of the ending broke my heart (when you read, you’ll see why) and then made me extremely happy (when you read, you’ll see why.)

Although I really enjoyed reading Mastiff (it kept me up until 4am to finish it) and I would definitely recommend it to those already invested in the series, I am very torn on some of the developments in the plot. I can’t wait for other people to read it so we can talk about it.

So please, go pick it up and let me know what you think. And to those that have loved the Beka Cooper series so far, savor this one, because unfortunately, it is the last.

4 thoughts on “Mastiff by Tamora Pierce

  1. I was just thinking the same thing – I can’t wait for others to finish reading so we can talk about it! I will love any story I read that takes place in Tortall. I didn’t like the epilogue of Mastiff, it felt very contrived. But overall, I loved Beka’s story.

    Do you have any recommendations for other books/series that are like T.P.’s Tortall?

    • Have you read any of the Valdemar books by Mercedes Lackey? She is similar, a little more grown up fantasy but her heroines are always very strong women who can do anything the men can do. Shes written a bigillion books (at least 7 or 8 series I can think of.) I loved reading them when I was younger and I still enjoy picking them up once and a while just for fun. You should definitely check them out in the bookstore!

Leave a Reply

