Top Ten Favorite Quotes From Books

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is Top Ten Favorite Quotes From Books. It was hard to pick, so I randomly plucked a few from my collection that have stayed with me over the years.

“I would stare at the grains of light suspended in that silent space, struggling to see into my own heart. What did I want? And what did others want from me? But I could never find the answers. Sometimes I would reach out and try to grasp the grains of light, but my fingers touched nothing.”  ― Haruki Murakami

“There are all kinds of silences and each of them means a different thing. There is the silence that comes with morning in a forest, and this is different from the silence of a sleeping city. There is silence after a rainstorm, and before a rainstorm, and these are not the same. There is the silence of emptiness, the silence of fear, the silence of doubt. There is a certain silence that can emanate from a lifeless object as from a chair lately used, or from a piano with old dust upon its keys, or from anything that has answered to the need of a man, for pleasure or for work. This kind of silence can speak. Its voice may be melancholy, but it is not always so; for the chair may have been left by a laughing child or the last notes of the piano may have been raucous and gay. Whatever the mood or the circumstance, the essence of its quality may linger in the silence that follows. It is a soundless echo.”  ― Beryl Markham, West with the Night

“Soon the maroon-throated howls would echo back from the other trees, father down the beach, until the whole jungle filled with roaring trees. As it was in the beginning, so it is every morning of the world.”Barbara Kingsolver, The Lacuna

“I do love secondhand books that open to the page some previous owner read oftenest. The day Hazlitt came he opened to “I hate to read new books,” and I hollered “Comrade!” to whoever owned it before me.”Helene Hanff, 84, Charing Cross Road

“They call it ‘the whispering of the stars.’ Listen,” he said, raising a finger for silence. I could still hear the tinkling and craned my neck to see what it was. Zhensky laughed. “No, here. Look.” He formed his mouth into a wide O and exhaled slowly. As he did, I saw the cloud of breath fall in droplets to the ground. That was the sound I heard: our breath falling. “It’s a Yakut expression. It means a period of weather so cold that your breath falls frozen to the ground before it can dissipate. The Yakuts say that you should never tell secrets outside during the whispering of the stars, because the words themselves freeze, and in the spring thaw anyone who walks past that spot will be able to hear them.”  ― Jon Fasman, The Geographer’s Library

“He didn’t know of course. Not really. And yet that was what he said, and I was soothed to hear it. For I knew what he meant. We all have our sorrows, and although the exact delineaments, weight, and dimensions of grief are different for everyone, the color of grief is common to us all. “I know,” he said, because he was human, and therefore, in a way, he did.”  ― Diane Setterfield, The Thirteenth Tale

“You get a little moody sometimes but I think that’s because you like to read. People that like to read are always a little fucked up.” ― Pat Conroy, The Prince of Tides

“It’s like a bear stumbling into a beehive or a honey cache: I’m stumbling right into it and getting stuck, and it’s delicious and it’s horrible and I’m in it and it’s not very graceful and it’s very awkward and it’s very painful and yet there’s something inevitable about it.”Leonard Cohen

“I told her how until that moment I had not understood that this was a story about lonely people, about absence and loss, and that that was why I had taken refuge in it until it became confused with my own life, like someone who has escaped into the pages of a novel because those whom he needs to love seem nothing more than ghosts inhabiting the mind of a stranger.”  ― Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Shadow of the Wind

Anyone who knew the word slattern was worth cultivating as a friend.”  ― Alan Bradley, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
20 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite Quotes From Books

  1. Yay! I love that you included a quote from Pat Conroy! I am ashamed that I didn’t! Also, I loved The Thirteenth Tale and that quote!

  2. Pandemonium is definitely darker than Delirium. But I don’t think I enjoyed it as much…

    I loved the quote about readers and getting stuck in a beehive. However, I don’t think I’ve read any of these novels… Thanks for sharing and visiting my top ten.

    • no problem! I look forward to reading pandemonium, even if it is a bit darker. catching fire was a bit darker than hunger games, so sometimes I think thats just what happens in a trilogy. And thanks! glad you enjoyed the quotes.

Leave a Reply

