Top Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope Are Still Being Read In 30 Years

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This was actually much harder than I expected! A lot of books I thought would go on this list turned out to be more than 10 years old (seriously guys, thanks for making me feel really old.) So here’s what I came up with:

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro  – Really anything by this author, wonderful writer.

The Bean Trees by Barabara Kingsolver – A lot of her less well known books are just as great as the others. I hope people are still discovering and loving them for a long time to come!

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I feel like I’ve loved this book my whole life, so its hard to realize it was published in 2007 which really isn’t all that long ago. I still recommend it to people constantly and I know I always will!

Kafka on The Shore by Haruki Murakami – I actually had a friend have no idea who this author was the other day, which made me sad. I love his books! I can only hope lots of generations to come will too.

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien – I think this was the best book he has ever written. Beautiful writing and a very good book about war, humanity, love and loss.

Percy Jackson Series  by Rick Riordan – I love this series! I think they did a horrid job on the movie, but the books are great. I know a lot of kids love them now and hope they keep reading them!

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – I don’t think there’s a chance these won’t be read by people in 30 years, but you never know. Sometimes books become a fad and fade out of existence after their popularity is spent.

  Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, SuperAtheletes and the Greatest Race the World has Ever Seen by Christopher McDougall – A great book about running but also just about people, traveling, experiences and a tribe of amazing people. I really enjoyed it and I’m glad it is getting a lot of attention right now.

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss – Still my absolute favorite book by Krauss and I am constantly surprised by how few people I know have read it.

  The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – I was surprised this one counted, I thought it was much older. Still one of my all time favorite writers.

Well that’s what I have! Hope everyone had a wonderful memorial day weekend full of books and sunshine!

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope Are Still Being Read In 30 Years

  1. Great list! I have been meaning to read The Shadow of the Wind for such a long time. I really need to read it soon. Hunger Games and The Book Thief made my list as well.

  2. Love Never Let Me Go–such a heartbreaker. Have you read Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver? I love everything by her that I’ve read, but that one is my absolute favorite. Great list, you’ve convinced me to finally read Shadow of the Wind.

    • That is my absolute favorite too! I think Prodigal Summer was her best book, I re-read it every year. It would have made it on this list but it didn’t make the 10 year mark 🙂

  3. Could not agree more about The Bean Trees – it is just as good as her more famous books. BAH. Wish more people would read that one. I also love The Things They Carried and it’s such a good book to talk about the world today.

  4. Hunger Games and The Book Thief are on my list as well…I’ll be using The Book Thief in my Composition II classes this next school year. A definite MUST read. 🙂

  5. Wow, what a great list! I think you are the first person I’ve seen who hasn’t included Harry Potter! In a weird way, I say, “good for you” since it’s kind of (technically) a cheat anyways.
    Thanks for sharing!

  6. Great list! I missed participating on this topic, but I have a feeling I’ll revisit it. I’ve read many of these choices and agree with all the ones I’ve read. I also see some titles I need to hurry up and get to. In particular, I need to move ahead with the Percy Jackson series.

Leave a Reply

