The new Social Site for Kindle users

We all read a lot of book blogs, tweet with #FridayReads & #LitChat, post on GoodReads & LibraryThing, swap on BookMooch and download ARCS on NetGalley. And here comes another website to help us talk about books. The question is, is it worth it? Book lovers who take advantage of online social media are already spending a lot of time on the sites listed above and numerous others.

Well as an avid Kindle user, I can say that I will be visiting https://kindle.amazon.com/  for a while to check it out and play with new developments. So far, it is decently designed. It is a simple, straightforward site with enough options to keep you entertained, but not so many that you feel lost. I like Your Highlights where I can see all the quotes I’ve highlighted in my kindle books on one page. I can then cut and paste into my blog, tumblr or twitter as I wish. To me, that’s quite useful.

The Daily Review option threw me off at first because I thought it would be a daily book review. Instead, it is a ‘review’ in the sense of the word that it is reviewing a book you have in your library by posting “Flashcards” of significant highlights and quotes. I’d prefer for Amazon to change this option to actual book reviews about books that the user might like based upon their current kindle library.

Also on your kindle.amazon page is quotes from books in your library, highly followed people, book suggestions and twitter/facebook buttons if you want to add everyone you know onto your kindle page. I like the Want to Read feature on the right under Public Stats which pulls books from your wishlists to show you what you’ve coveted lately. You can also make certain features public or private, so you can control what your new amazon followers will be able to see.

The Most Highlighted of All Time shows the passages and the books that people are highlighting feverishly at home. In Passages: 

Mockingjay (no surprise) is currently #1 with: “It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart.” – Highlighted by 5396 Kindle users

Pride and Prejudice is #2 : “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” – Highlighted by 5201 Kindle users

and Catching Fire is #3 : “Because sometimes things happen to people and they’re not equipped to deal with them.” – Highlighted by 4932 Kindle users

Overall, I’m enjoying my time at https://kindle.amazon.com/ and I am looking forward to watching how it grows and changes. Feel free to share your thoughts with me! I’d love to hear what other kindle users are thinking of this site so far.

3 thoughts on “The new Social Site for Kindle users

  1. Pingback: The new Social Site for Kindle users | Kindle 3G Reviews

Leave a comment